24.4.2 REPRESENTATION REVIEW 2024 - INITIAL PROPOSAL

To consider ratification of the initial proposal of the Representation Review 2024 in order for the resolution to adhere correctly to legislation.

RESOLUTION

Moved:	Cadogan
Seconded:	Paterson

That the Council

- A. Receives the report and accepts the level of significance.
- B. Notes the decisions made for the Representation Review 2024 in resolution 24.3.3.
- C. Agrees that the structure for the 2025 Triennial Election be proposed as:
 - (a) Central Otago District, as delineated on SO Plan 23130 deposited with the Land Information New Zealand, will be divided into four wards
 - (b) Those four wards will be:
 - (i) Cromwell Ward, comprising the area delineated on SO Plan 24243 deposited with the Land Information New Zealand
 - (ii) Maniototo Ward, comprising the area delineated on SO Plan 24247 deposited with the Land Information New Zealand
 - (iii) Teviot Valley Ward, comprising the area delineated on SO Plan 24244 deposited with the Land Information New Zealand
 - (iv) Vincent Ward, being an amalgamation of the Earnscleugh-Manuherikia Ward and Alexandra Ward, comprising the areas delineated on SO Plan 386670 and SO Plan 24246 deposited with the Land Information New Zealand
 - (c) 1 Mayor elected by the electors of the district as a whole (at-large)
 - (d) 10 Councillors elected as follows:
 - (i) 4 Councillors elected by the electors of the Cromwell Ward
 - (ii) 1 Councillor elected by the electors of the Maniototo Ward
 - (iii) 1 Councillor elected by the electors of the Teviot Valley Ward
 - (iv) 4 Councillors elected by the electors of the Vincent Ward
 - (e) There will be four community boards as follows:
 - (i) Cromwell Community Board, comprising the area of the Cromwell Ward
 - (ii) Maniototo Community Board, comprising the area of the Maniototo Ward
 - (iii) Teviot Valley Community Board, comprising the area of the Teviot Valley Ward
 - (iv) Vincent Community Board, comprising the area of the Vincent Ward being an amalgamation of the Alexandra Ward and the Earnscleugh-Manuherikia Ward
 - (f) The membership of each community board will be as follows:

- (i) Cromwell Community Board will comprise four elected members and one member appointed to the community board by the Council being a member representing the Cromwell Ward
 - (ii) Maniototo Community Board will comprise four elected members and one member appointed to the community board by the Council being the member representing the Maniototo Ward
 - (iii) Teviot Valley Community Board will comprise four elected members and one member appointed to the community board by the Council being the member representing the Teviot Valley Ward
 - (iv) Vincent Community Board will comprise four elected members and one member appointed to the community board by the Council being a member representing the Vincent Ward.
- D. Notes the decision to reduce the number of Vincent Ward councillors was to better conform to the +/- 10% rule for representation and that the decision to reduce the number of appointed councillors to one for the Cromwell and Vincent Community Boards was to acknowledge the additional workload being carried out by councillors.
- E. Agrees that, as required by sections 19T(b) and 19W(c) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the boundaries of the wards and communities should coincide with the boundaries of current statistical meshblock areas determined by Statistics New Zealand and used for parliamentary purposes.

CARRIED