Central Otago District Council

Initial proposal for representation arrangements for the 2025 local elections

On 28 March 2024 the Central Otago District Council reviewed its representation arrangements, and resolved that the following proposal apply for the Council and its community boards for the elections to be held on 11 October 2025:

Council Representation

It is proposed that the Council comprise 10 members elected from four wards, and the mayor. The four wards reflect the following identified communities of interest:

Ward	Communities of interest
Cromwell Ward	The Cromwell ward encompasses both urban and rural communities. The main urban centre is Cromwell and the ward also includes the settlements of Bannockburn, Pisa Moorings, Lowburn and Tarras.
Maniototo Ward	The Maniototo ward encompasses Ranfurly, Naseby and includes the smaller settlements of Wedderburn, Oturehua, Patearoa, Kyeburn and Waipiata.
Teviot Valley Ward	The Teviot ward includes the towns of Roxburgh and Millers Flat and smaller settlements of Ettrick and Lake Roxburgh Village.
Vincent Ward	The Vincent ward includes urban and rural communities including Alexandra, Clyde, Letts Gully, Springvale, Poolburn, Omakau, Ophir, Becks, Lauder, St Bathans, Earnscleugh and Fruitlands.

The population that each member will represent is as follows:

Ward	Population (2018 census)	Members	Population per member
Cromwell Ward	10600	4	2650
Maniototo Ward	1970	1	1970
Teviot Valley Ward	1930	1	1930
Vincent Ward	11550	4	2888
Total	26050	10	2605

In accordance with section 19V(2), Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each member represents must be within the range of 2605 +/- 10% (2345 to 2865), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise.

The representation of the Maniototo, Teviot Valley and Vincent Wards fall outside the stipulated range. The Council considers that the Maniototo and Teviot Valley Wards warrant a single member for the following reasons:

 non-compliance with subsection (2) is required for effective representation of communities of interest within isolated communities situated within the district of the territorial authority.

The Council considers that the Vincent Ward warrants four members for the following reasons:

- compliance with subsection (2) would limit effective representation of communities of interest by dividing a community of interest between wards or subdivisions
- at 10.8% it falls only just outside the tolerated threshold of +/- 10%

Community Board Representation

It is proposed that the following four community boards be elected:

Community Board	Area of Community
Cromwell Community Board	The Cromwell ward encompasses both urban and rural communities. The main urban centre is Cromwell and the ward also includes the settlements of Bannockburn, Pisa Moorings, Lowburn and Tarras.
Maniototo Community Board	The Maniototo ward encompasses Ranfurly, Naseby and includes the smaller settlements of Wedderburn, Oturehua, Patearoa, Kyeburn and Waipiata.
Teviot Valley Community Board	The Teviot ward includes the towns of Roxburgh and Millers Flat and smaller settlements of Ettrick and Lake Roxburgh Village.
Vincent Community Board	The Vincent ward includes urban and rural communities including Alexandra, Clyde, Letts Gully, Springvale, Poolburn, Omakau, Ophir, Becks, Lauder, St Bathans, Earnscleugh and Fruitlands.

Community Boards

The Cromwell, Maniototo, Teviot Valley and Cromwell Community Boards will each elect four members. They will not be subdivided for electoral purposes. They will each have one appointed member as follows:

Community Board	Number of members from which ward		
Cromwell Community Board	1 member appointed from the Cromwell Ward		
Maniototo Community Board	1 member appointed from the Maniototo Ward		
Teviot Valley Community Board	1 member appointed from the Teviot Valley Ward		
Vincent Community Board	1 member appointed from the Vincent Ward		

Further Information

Copies of the Council's resolution and maps setting out the areas of the proposed wards, communities and subdivisions may be viewed and obtained from

- Alexandra Service Centre, 1 Dunorling Street, Alexandra
- Cromwell Service Centre, 42 The Mall, Cromwell
- Ranfurly Service Centre, 15 Pery Street, Ranfurly

Roxburgh Service Centre, 120 Scotland Street, Roxburgh

Any queries regarding the Council's decision should be directed to Wayne McEnteer, 03 440 0667, governance@codc.govt.nz

Submissions are invited

Persons with an interest in the proposed representation arrangements are invited to make written submissions on the Council's representation proposal. They can be submitted on Let's Talk, Korero Mai, email or in a physical submission. Details below:

Submissions are to be forwarded to:

- Attention Wayne McEnteer (03 440 0667)
- Physical address Alexandra Service Centre, 1 Dunorling Street, Alexandra.
- Email governance@codc.govt.nz

Submissions must be received by Council no later than 28 April 2024

Peter Kelly Chief Executive Officer 28 March 2024